Twitter is working on a new function that will allow the platform's users to ban themselves from being mentioned in publications, as described by the application researcher Jane Manchun Won and even sought public opinion on the issue, but later deleted his publication.
Limiting the ability to mention users in @username format can be a significant change in the work of the whole platform and in some cases will make it impossible to have an important aspect of communication between unknown users; on the other hand, this measure will help reduce the degree of negative on the social media by depriving online bullys of a convenient tool to intimidate and harass their victims.
Ms. Vaughn has published a screen shot from the settings of the application showing the work of this function: you can be allowed to mention your name to all users, to limit the circle of trusted persons to whom the user has signed, or to prohibit reference to yourself at all.
Twitter is not the first time that users are allowed to narrow the circle of people who can interact with them. A couple of years ago, the platform limited the number of users who can respond to tweets, and in May, the social network began testing the Circles function, which limits the visibility of the publications themselves.