The Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded for a simple way to create complex substances

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded for a simple way to create complex substances

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, and the award was awarded to three scientists who laid the foundations and the application of a new functional technology, using which complex molecules are fashionable to create simple elements like building blocks.

Chemicals have long been driven by the desire to create increasingly complex molecules, explains the Nobel Committee ' s decision. In pharmaceutical research, it often involves the artificial re-establishment of natural molecules with healing properties. There are many technologies that allow these molecules to be created, but they tend to take a lot of time, complexity and cost.

The founder of the new technology, cliché chemistry, was Barry Sharpless, a researcher at Stanford University. This is his second award, which was awarded for the first time with other scientists in 2001 "for research used in the pharmaceutical industry." Around 2000, a researcher came up with the concept of click chemistry, which is a form of simple and reliable chemistry, where reactions take place quickly and unwanted by-products are excluded.

Soon after, Charles and Danish scientist Morten Meldal came up with a different idea of how to translate the theoretical concept into reality; they developed the technology of an azid-alkin cyclocelebration that is catalyzed by copper; this simple reaction has been widely applied in practice; for example, it is used in the development of pharmaceuticals, in DNA mapping and in the production of materials with specified properties.

The third recipient, American researcher Caroline Bertozzi, modified the click chemistry to work with biomolecules, and developed reactions that work inside living organisms to map glycans, important but elusive biomolecules on cell surfaces. The technology offered by scientists allows the study of cells without disrupting the natural processes that occur in them.

The 10 million Swedish kroner award will be shared equally among all winners.